Michael Landon / Squid / Billy Corgan

Last night at the Sheldon Theater in St Louis Ryan asked people to bring “framed art” to help decorate the stage.  As it turns out, the people who read Ryan’s Twitter feed and bring these items end up with a much greater chance of having their requests played during the “free for all” portion of the acoustic shows.  It helps give a little structure to a situation that otherwise just rewards the squeakiest wheels in the audience.

After a handful of framed photos made it to the stage in St Louis, some guy stepped forward with a giant framed illustration of a dripping wet Michael Landon holding a squid in his arms, and so naturally we let that guy have a couple of requests.  “Careful” and “Center of Attention” were his choices. That guy could have written the rest of the night’s set list as far as I’m concerned.

Image

We were slightly obsessed with The Landon Squid, passive aggressively jostling for dibs throughout the show, until the very end when we publicly performed a band rock-paper-scissors for rights to it.  Adam won, and after the show the guy who brought the Landon Squid confessed that it was a gift from his son to him, and that he hadn’t intended for us to actually take ownership of it.  Fair enough, we signed it and returned it.

Fast forward to not even 11 hours later, we found ourselves in a packed bar near Wrigley Field performing in front of a drunken crowd of Cub’s fans.  Ten in the morning!  Apparently they start drinking at 6am on opening day.  Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins and Jeff Garlin from Curb Your Enthusiasm were there.  While the radio DJ was interviewing Billy Corgan, I had a once-in-a-lifetime chance to snap a photo of Corgan and our monitor guy / keyboard player Josh Cohen in the same frame.  They share a resemblance:

Image

Josh hasn’t had a single hair on his head since I met him when he was 21 years old.  Unfortunately Corgan was wearing an old-timey winter hat and despite all my rage, I couldn’t get his face in the photo from behind my drum kit.  You’ll just have to trust me that he’s holding the microphone in the photo below.

Image

Garlin is actually going to sleep on the tour bus tonight in a bunk.  We’ll see how that goes.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Michael Landon / Squid / Billy Corgan

  1. Tony McNamara

    Dear God PLEASE let my wife and I watch sound check in Milwaukee tomorrow!

  2. Rosie A.

    The Michael Landon picture brought much joy that night. I’m glad it’s up on the web!

  3. Phu Dang

    I just wanted to apologize on behalf of all Chicagoans for the idiot hecklers standing right behind me in the crowd that night. I always love seeing you guys live in concert. You never dissapoint. That night, I bought my best friend a ticket to see you guys since he’s probably one of your biggest fans ever. Those drunk kids were pissing me off so much, I had to ask them to tone it down. Eventually, they moved closer to the stage to leave me alone because I think they were afraid I would smash their faces in if they kept going at it. Thank you guys for keeping your heads and playing through it all. It was, as always, an amazing performance. I have never heard Satellite live with such an amazing violinist. That shit rocked my night. My buddy and I had a great time, and we hope to see you all in Chicago again.

  4. Joe

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/galleries/2010/06/25/celebrities-get-weird-in-artist-s-paintings.html#slide11

    STL show was amazing in itself. The craziness surrounding Michael and the Squid and subsequent Demons fire drill made it legendary.

  5. Kevin Stockbridge

    This is completely awesome. I went to school with the artist of The Landon Squid. Guster is one of my all time favorite bands. How freaking random!

Leave a Reply

