FOUR SHOWS. FOUR DAYS. THREE STATES. ONE GUSTER… (guest journalist: kainoa)

FULL DISCLOSURE: THIS IS NOT BRIAN. (I AM NOT BRIAN.)

FullSizeRenderpage1image12544

(Top; Brian. Bottom: NOT Brian.)

(And for that I am sorry.)

Before I start explaining myself, who I am, and what I’m doing here, I want to to thank Brian for sharing his space on the internet with me for the next week or so.

“WHAT? What’s that? An intruder on the Road Journal? How DARE he. This space belongs to the ThunderGod. And he’s not even in the band or crew?!? NOPE NOPE NOPE.”

I can hear your dismay from here. And I accept that, and I understand. Now quiet down.

Yeah. I get it. I know. You are all correct. This is NOT my space. But, I’m going to borrow it for a few days and for a few shows…

­

Here’s the deal. Brian is going to update the Road Journal as he usually does, but I’m going to hop on board for a little bit and supplement his posts, and bring you, the tens of Road Journal addicts that span the globe a little more content. For a short while, I’m going to be all over it. I’m going to document my own travels chasing the band across a swath of the West, and report back to you my thoughts on the trip, the venues, the set lists, and the shows. I’ll also be posting pictures and video from my travels, from these first shows of the tour, and if they let me, of the band while they are sleeping.*

I’ll get you a tour of the GusBus, some pre­ and post­show shots, introduce you to some of crew helping to make this tour happen, and hopefully throw in some surprises along the way.

­

I’m going to attend 4 Guster shows in 4 days, in 3 states. It’s about a 2,000 mile loop I’m headed out on, so expect some interesting, and often not interesting, tales from the road. I’ll be driving myself, going to the shows, seeing some sights, and I may be joined along the way by friends and family I have in the cities I’ll be visiting.

­

Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram… I’ll be all over them. Follow the band on all of those platforms, as well as here on the Road Journal and you’ll get a nice (and comprehensive!) view into the world of Guster, from both their, and my perspective, for a week. Like, favorite, and share what you see in any of those places if you feel so inclined.

So. Let’s get to know each other. My name is Kainoa. Nice to meet you. I’ve been a fan for a long time, and I’m really looking forward to bringing all of you some fun stuff from the road. When I’m about to hit the road, I’ll have more information for you about how you can follow me, and contact me with questions, requests, and comments on the tour and what I’m doing.

page2image21240

(Couldn’t find my stubs from before ­2000, but I’ve been going to Guster shows for A LONG TIME… This was a pool hall show in a suburb of Sacramento where the locals refused to stop playing pool during the concert, and saw the band cover U2, The Beastie Boys, Bon Jovi, The Doors, AND Fleetwood Mac. A special, SPECIAL night… )

So. Thanks in advance to all of Guster, their management, and crew, for giving me some access, and again to Brian for letting me step on his toes and get into his space on the internet for a bit. I hope you all enjoy the… stuff I bring you.

It’s going to be a fun week. Guster has birthed a new album, and is back on the road. I think we can all agree, those are wonderful things.

See you on the road,
­Kainoa
(*Brian says that sleeping pics aren’t cool. I won’t be taking any of those. Sorry.)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “FOUR SHOWS. FOUR DAYS. THREE STATES. ONE GUSTER… (guest journalist: kainoa)

  1. alandowne

    Was there supposed to be a footnote after:
    “I’ll also be posting pictures and video from my travels, from these first shows of the tour, and if they let me, of the band while they are sleeping.*”

  2. alandowne

    Was there supposed to be a footnote after:
    “I’ll also be posting pictures and video from my travels, from these first shows of the tour, and if they let me, of the band while they are sleeping.*”

  3. hey kainoa, i’ve enjoyed your posts! thanks for filling us in because here in Boston we love knowing what the band is up to! cheers!

Leave a Reply

